Skip to content

Photo shoes

February 29, 2016

 

As Christmas was approaching, I saw an episode of Home and Family (Season 4 Episode 35) and on the show they demonstrated how to take a pair of shoes and add comic book pictures to them. They did it to a pair of high heels. My step daughter is getting married in April, so I immediately thought of making her a pair of shoes for her wedding- but using photos instead of the comics. When I tried researching to see what I needed to do, I found no one had made any posts about doing it. I saw glitter heels, the comics, even fabric, but no photos. So I decided to a trial run to see if it would work. I went to the Goodwill got a pair of patent leather shoes, tried my idea on the toe area and waited for them to dry. Would it work?  It did!

The concept is similar to doing the comic book shoes- I printed the photos on plain copy paper. I used my regular standard printer but I did reduce the size of the photos down to the size of comics. I will say it is good to have some smaller and some larger photos to fill in the gaps. Since this was my only pair, I did learn that along the way. If you need a step-by-step tutorial, look on YouTube for a comic book shoe tutorial and just replace your printed paper photos for the comics they recommend in the supply list.

I did everything from my iPad. I bought the app, Print to Size. I think I paid $2.99 for it. In the app, photos are measured in centimeters. I made my photos around 4 centimeters. I saved the files to my Dropbox account and exported it from there to my printer app.

I’m giving her the shoes tomorrow so she can take them to her mom’s this weekend where she will have her bridal portraits done with them on. I just hope she loves them as much as I do.

The possibilities are endless. Think Mother’s Day, Valentine’s Day, birthdays, Maid/Matron of Honor gifts. You can print the photos in black and white and make a statement that way. Be creative as you want and have FUN!!!

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

